>The Dishwasher is no friend of mine!

>This past weekend I was visiting my family for the long Memorial Day weekend. All my nieces had come in to enjoy a time at the lake. Fabulous weather, delicious food and lots of jokes, teasing and laughter! I absolutely love being with my 3 nieces and my brother and sister-in -law!

It was a little different this time, however, in that my oldest niece brought her English boyfriend to be with us! Patty, as I call him, got to experience how our southern family, with all it’s quirks, managed to get along. It wasn’t long before he felt a little intimidated by the closeness that we all share. I had bought him some very appropriate regional food- white lightnin’ bread & butter pickles– and told him that when he had finished the pickles, well, he could just pour the remainder of the white lightnin’ into a good bloody mary and settle back for a relaxing weekend! Thought that was a good ice-breaker!!

But as all good weekends go, the time must end and get back home to reality. My oldest niece and Patty would be driving to Memphis that night and then on to Austin, TX the next day(Monday)! My 2 younger nieces had plans back at their Nashville home- 2 more parties to go! And my brother and sister-in-law- were faced with walking into a quiet home again after a week of laughter, cooking favorite meals, having cocktails with cheese and crackers, cranking up the rock & roll classics, and listening to who was coming in at night and what time it was! I decided I would go with them and spend the night to help ease them back into the quietness.  I knew, Peggy, my sister-in-law,would have a little bit of trouble. What Mother doesn’t like having all their girls under one roof?! My brother would be okay- he had Scout- the “horse” yellow Lab- to get his attention. Not that he wouldn’t miss “the girls”, but…what can I say?!

Anywho, the next morning, I was loading the dishwasher when the reality struck me! It’s EMPTY! I only had a few dishes to put in! I am not even an empty-nester and I felt the reality! I missed the laughter, the teasing, the closeness! I missed the hugging, the “good morning, sweetheart”, and the talks at night! I missed all those dirty dishes, but most of all…I missed my sweet, beautiful and loving nieces!  Until the next time…

Grace and peace to you!

About Livin' on Westdale

Lovin my flowers, dogs, family and cooking! Tryin to figure out about my gifts and talents and how they can be used to serve the greater need.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment